Tag Archives: deathless

Top 10 HXC Approved Albums of 2015

 top ten 2015hxc

In no particular order, here are the HXC Magazine staff’s favorite records from 2015!

Continue reading Top 10 HXC Approved Albums of 2015

Record Review: Miss May I – ‘Deathless’


Who at one point or another hasn’t wanted to shout “I hate everyone/I hate everything” at the top of their lungs? Miss May I take care of that deep-seated urge in the fiery opening track of Deathless (“I.H.E.”), and it’s a visceral ride from there until the guitars fade out at the end of the final song.

Without question, Deathless is an adrenaline rush. The instrumentals are as deadly as ever and songs like “Trust My Heart (Never Hope To Die)” and the title track bring the intensity you crave from a heavy record. But that’s to be expected of a band like Miss May I by now. What’s surprisingly well done is the way the band manage to flesh out their rage while managing to remain vulnerable. “Psychotic Romance” ventures into the poetic when Levi Benton screams, “I’m not worthy of such beauty/I’m not worthy of a love like this.” “Empty Promises” confronts disappointment with the words “You always let me down” in an instant that’s more sad than aggressive. These noticeably softer moments add much needed depth to the record, rounding out the full meaning of what it is to carry so much resentment. Simply, you can’t have true rage without admitting pain.

Though some of the songs can blur together, one that sticks out is the closing track, “Born From Nothing.” The introductory guitar riff that runs throughout the song is as catchy as the “To hell I was!” that repeatedly shouts back an answer to the title. Under this rallying cry, Miss May I end the 10-track effort proving that Deathless is ferocious, inspirational, and above all, real.

Four and Half Star Rating

Miss May I Stream ‘Deathless’ Full Album


Since the combative single “I.H.E.” was released, fans everywhere have been waiting to know what the full new Miss May I album would sound like. Wait no longer! The entire Deathless stream is on the Rise Records YouTube channel right now. Check it below and let us know what you think! We’ll get you our opinion soon enough…

Rise Records Releases Miss May I Video “Deathless”

Deathless MMI

The second single from Miss May I‘s upcoming record Deathless is here!  The title track of the record debuted early this week on Rise Records‘ YouTube channel to give us a further taste of the new album’s sonic direction.  So far it seems that Miss May I have returned to their roots when writing and recording their latest material.  With riffs and choruses reminiscent of 2010’s Monument rather than 2014’s Rise of the Lion fans have displayed heavily positive responses to the new tracks.  So what do you think?  Check out the video for “Deathless” below and set your mind and body free, just as the kids in this video do in order to escape the evil teacher holding them prisoner.  And remember, stay metal.

Miss May I Release New Single “I.H.E.”


Miss May I have released a single from their upcoming LP Deathless, and it certainly packs a punch. The new song entitled “I.H.E.” starts off strong and intense with biting screams and edgy riffs. After listening to “I.H.E.”, it seems as though the Ohio metalcore band have returned to their heavier roots. The vocals, both clean and screaming, are raw and ruthless. About two and a half minutes in, a quick but satisfying guitar solo brings us back to the chorus, chanting “I hate everything, I hate everyone” and closing the song on a powerful note.

Singer Levi Benton’s words about the upcoming LP gives fans of the band something to be excited about. In a recent interview with AP, Benton said the following about Deathless:

“This record is about how the last two years have tested us on many levels and how we have come through it all stronger and better. That’s where the title comes from, because we are deathless.”

Deathless is currently available for pre-order on iTunes and will be released on August 7th. You can also catch Miss May I on Warped Tour this summer. Stream the song below and let us know what you think in the comments.

by Kelly Fay

Deathless Track Listing:

01. I H.E
02. Trust My Heart (Never Hope To Die)
03. Psychotic Romantic
04. Deathless
05. Bastards Left Behind
06. Arise
07. Turn Back The Time
08. Empty Promises
09. The Artificial
10. Born From Nothing